The winners are smiling: Team NZME Taranaki win the 2022 NZ Radio Awards

Left to right, Carole Morgan, Nikki Verbeet, Colleen Deegan and Tracey Blake with Beth Findlay-Heath (front). Photo/ Provided

New Zealand Media and Entertainment (NZME) celebrates one of its biggest wins at the NZ Radio Awards, winning six out of seven awards in the premier category and winning the majority of the overall awards pool.

The 2022 NZ Radio Awards took place last week and were broadcast via live webcast, with teams across the country tuning in to the radio industry’s highly anticipated annual event.

One of the NZME teams to take home an award on the evening was Team Taranaki NZME, who received the Sales Team of the Year award.

The award recognized the hard work of Nikki Verbeet, Tracey Blake, Colleen Deegan, Carole Morgan and Julie Petley who made up the team at the time of the awards presentation. The team has since been joined by media specialist Glen Bullen and Taranaki General Sales Manager Beth Findlay-Heath, while Nikki is now the General Sales Manager of Manawatu, Whanganui and Pahiatua.

Beth says the award is well deserved.

“Winning this award is a testament to the hard work, dedication and commitment our Taranaki team has shown in helping clients create successful advertising campaigns that incorporate integrated media solutions.

“Our media specialists take the time to get to know each business and understand what their advertising and media needs are, before working on efficient and effective campaigns that reach the right target market and the right customers. Our specialists are also professional, worthy trustworthy, competent and engaging.

“We thank our valued customers for supporting our Taranaki team and enabling them to better understand your business, your business needs, and ultimately deliver results that help your business grow.”

Taranaki’s win was one of many NZME wins at this year’s awards, with Newstalk ZB winning Station of the Year for the second year running, and ZB Breakfast host Mike Hosking winning the Sir Paul Holmes award. Broadcaster of the Year for the third time. Heather du Plessis-Allan received Best Breakfast/Drive-In Presenter and Marcus Lush won Best Non-Breakfast or Drive-In Presenter.

ZB’s Niva Retimanu was named top newsreader, D’Arcy Waldegrave was named top sports reader, anchor or commentator and ZB’s news team was honored for best news coverage for his work on the 2021 Covid/Delta outbreak.

Content Director/Team of the Year was awarded to Jason Winstanley, Edward Swift and Laura Heathcote from the Newstalk ZB network. Newstalk ZB won 11 awards in total, while station owner NZME celebrated complete success, winning six of the top seven awards in total.

NZME’s popular ZM Network celebrated seven awards in total, including Fletch, Vaughan and Megan winning the highly competitive Best Network Team Show – the fifth year in a row Breakfast has won. ZM also won the Blackie Award for host Hayley Sproul’s Driver’s License segment.

Radio Hauraki and The Hits both won two awards each, with Hauraki’s Matt & Jerry’s Podcast winning Best Radio Show Podcast and The Hits winning Best Promotion/Customer Activation for Jono & Ben’s Battery Operated Torch Tour with The Warehouse. Gold AM – now Gold Sport – also won an award for its coverage of the ICC World Test Championship.

Beth says the number of awards won by NZME doesn’t surprise her.

“NZME is such a dynamic and progressive company that combines radio, digital and print to help every business reach millions of Kiwis every day. But what makes NZME successful is building relationships key with customers and the wider Taranaki community to drive collaboration for business. It’s about great people working together.

Previous The Prime Minister orders the authorities concerned to remain vigilant
Next AM & FM Radio Market 2022 Industry Outlook and Opportunities 2028 - Top Manufacturers like Sangean, ANJAN, Panasonic, Muzen Audio - This is Ardee