Robert Glasper Announces 10th Anniversary Edition of “Black Radio”

The Robert Glasper Experiment – Photo: Mike Schreiber (courtesy Blue Note Records)

Robert Glasper and Blue Note Records have announced the release of a special 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition which features the entire black radio experience by extending it to a set of 3 LPs and a set of 2 CDs.

The project, which is set to be released on October 28, includes the original album plus three additional bonus tracks previously unreleased on vinyl, as well as the remix EP. Salvaged Black Radio which included additional contributions from ?uestlove and the roots, Solange, Phonte, 9th Wonder, Pete Rock, Georgia Anne Muldrow, and more. The 3-LP and 2-CD sets are available to pre-order now and come with a booklet featuring new Glasper liner notes and rare studio photos.

“The making of the album was born out of a desire to put my life on wax. A black box of music that just tells the truth, tells the story. It’s something you can’t destroy: the truth. It’s indestructible,” Glasper writes in the liner notes. “How black radio 1 hit also says something. Like what, it was necessary. It was missing – and then we made this record and, boom, it was there, and it was a whole thing. And it’s still evolving. black radio is essentially the backbone of my work. It’s central to what I do. It’s who I am.

To celebrate the news, Glasper unveiled the Experiment cover of Little Dragon’s “Twice”, a black radio bonus track which is digitally available to stream or download for the first time.

10 years ago, in 2012, Robert Glasper changed the game. After several acclaimed albums by Blue Note with his acoustic trio (Cloth, In my element) that solidified his jazz cred while alluding to his hip-hop leanings, the visionary pianist went all-in with black radioan album that defined a new paradigm for creative music, reaching beyond entrenched genre boundaries to create a singular vision that draws inspiration from all walks of contemporary black music and beyond.

Featuring Glasper’s band Experiment with Casey Benjamin on saxophone/vocoder, Derrick Hodge on bass and Chris Dave on drums, the album had a special guest list including Erykah Badu, Lalah Hathaway, Bilal, Lupe Fiasco, Ledisi, KING, Chrisette Michele, Musiq Soulchild, Meshell Ndegeocello, Stokley and yasiin bey.

Pre-order black radio (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition).

Previous Guardian Capital announces completion of change of back
Next Radio host admits making false claim about Freeman talks